Roadshow: When a transit commute takes twice as long as driving

Q I would like to live in Thomas McMurtry’s world (Roadshow, Feb. 12), where access to public transportation is as easy as getting on a bus or train that stops in front of your house.

I live 13 miles from work, which isn’t that far. But there’s no simple public transit in my neighborhood, and no public transit comes by my place of work. I live in a different county than the one I work in, so even if it was easy on both ends, I’d still be negotiating three transit agencies.

Google tells me that my commute via transit would be just over 2 hours versus about 40 minutes in commute traffic. Charging for parking works in some areas, but it’s hardly a panacea for all traffic issues…

I would love to use public transportation more, but all Caltrain and VTA light-rail lots within 5 miles of where I live are full weekdays at 7 a.m. Caltrain is standing-room-only at rush hours...

The powers-that-be want us to use public transportation more, but they do nothing to make it workable. If the best we can do is convert carpool lanes to “Lexus lanes,” transportation in the Bay Area is doomed to gridlock in the not-too-distant future... (more)

 

Leave a Reply

