Fight is gearing up over Geary BRT plan tomorrow at City Hall

SFMTA Picks the Wrong time to Demand Fast Tracking $360 million dollar Bus Lanes when residents want to time to deliberate on cheaper plan.

Just as Cogress prepares to remove public health care programs and slash social security allowances that sustain millions of people, SFMTA demands fast tracking  approval for their $350 million dollar controversial Geary BRT Hybrid design. The plan’s opponents want to save money and protect our local economy. Tell the Board of Supervisors what you want to do with $300 million dollars. Read about the alternative plan here: www.sfsensibletransit.org

Attend the Special Transportation Authority Board Meeting at City Hall on the Geary BRT  Thursday, January 5,  2 PM

Letter from San Franciscans for Sensible Transit:

Thursday January 5 at 2pm the County Transportation Authority Board of Commissioners (the Supervisors)will meet in Room 250 of City Hall to consider approving the Final EIR and selection of the recommended $300 million construction project from Palm-Arguello through 27th Avenue of Geary Boulevard.

Many people have written to oppose the hearing. The documents are over 1000 pages and were only available during the holidays. And the January 5 date prevents the newly elected Supervisor of District One, Sandra Fewer, from participating because she will not be sworn in until next Monday Jan 9. She opposed the construction project and wanted questions asked. Voters of District One agreed.

Whether one is firmly opposed or not to the project, the January 5 meeting should be protested. To ignore the vote of 80% of District One for the top two contenders who questioned the project is contrary to our democratic principles.

Please write the Supervisors (who sit as the Board of the TA) asking for them to defer the decision to give time for the four new Supervisors to hear the issues. Many of you have written excellent letters and for those still could, Supervisors’  email addresses are below. If you can, please attend the January 5 meeting to have your voice heard.

Bob Starzel
San Franciscans for Sensible Transit   www.sfsensibletransit.org

Write your own message or see a sample letter here: https://discoveryink.wordpress.com/letters-and-comments/geary-brt/

Email the following:

Subject Line:  Vote to Postpone Vote on Geary BRT Final EIR Scheduled for January 5

Dear Supervisors/Board Members of the SF County Transportation Authority,

I strongly urge you as members of the Transportation Authority to vote to postpone your consideration of the Geary BRT Final EIR for at least 30 days after the currently scheduled SFCTA meeting on January 5, 2017.

To: Board.of.Supervisors@sfgov.org, clerk@sfcta.orgLondon.Breed@sfgov.org, Aaron.Peskin@sfgov.org, Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org, Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org, Jane.Kim@sfgov.org, Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org, Katy.Tang@sfgov.org, David.Campos@sfgov.org, Norman.Yee@sfgov.org, kanishka.karunaratne@sfgov.orghillary.ronen@sfgov.orgsandra@sandrafewer.comahshaforsupervisor@gmail.com, jess.montejano@sfgov.org, conor.johnston@sfgov.orgmargaux.kelly@sfgov.org, John.Avalos@sfgov.org, sunny.angulo@sfgov.org, Dyan.Ruiz@sfgov.org, chelsea@sandrafewer.com,

Please blind cc:  bstarzel@gmail.com, saveourltaravalstops@gmail.com

Attend the meeting: Thursday, January 5,  2 PMDetails
Room 250 City Hall,
Special Transportation Authority Board Meeting

Write your own message or see a longer sample letter here: https://discoveryink.wordpress.com/letters-and-comments/geary-brt/

See the OpEd in Sunday’s Examiner at http://www.sfexaminer.com/geary-brt-expensive-pledge-past/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s