Who will be allowed to drive in the Red Lanes?

Director Ed Reiskin is leaving it up to the Board of Supervisors to decide.

Don’t miss your chance to comment on the Red Lanes.
BEFORE THE HEARING THAT HAS BEEN RESCHEDULED TWICE.
STAY TUNED FOR UPDATES AND SEND YOUR LETTER.

Supervisor Sandra Fewer called for this hearing to investigate the matter of access to transit-only lanes (red lanes) after SFMTA announced in August 2018 that they have been legislating transit-only lanes to be accessible to private buses. Some articles on that:

http://www.sfexaminer.com/private-transit-access-red-bus-lanes-angers-advocates/

http://www.sfexaminer.com/private-transit-not-belong-dedicated-bus-lanes/

The SFMTA Board of Directors has NO LEGAL POWER to permit private buses to access transit-only lanes (just like it also doesn’t have the power to preempt state law and permit private commuter shuttles to operate in public bus stops). Permitting private buses to operate in transit-only lanes is bad policy on so many levels. And the department is under pressure to listen to the public now. Here is your chance to let the Supervisors know how you feel about Red Lanes:

CC: Board.of.Supervisors@sfgov.org, Sandra.Fewer@sfgov.org, Catherine.Stefani@sfgov.org, Aaron.Peskin@sfgov.org, Katy.Tang@sfgov.org, Vallie.Brown@sfgov.org, Jane.Kim@sfgov.org, Norman.Yee@sfgov.org, Rafael.Mandelman@sfgov.org, Hillary.Ronen@sfgov.org, Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org, Ahsha.Safai@sfgov.org, MTABoard@sfmta.com

 

 

2 thoughts on “Who will be allowed to drive in the Red Lanes?

  1. People made a big deal about shuttle buses using bus stops which is exactly what they wanted so that can take up parking spaces for shuttles instead. That was the whole scam.

    They had a lawsuit on Geary BRT and acted like they were listening and the SFMTA pushed it anyway.

    Commuter buses using red lanes will be approved 100% including other changes in land use. Land use changes will allow for more bulb outs removal of parking spaces and development.

    This Geary st project may have only been in the messy a couple of years. But it has been in the works years before then.

    Here is some info on the Geary BRT and what in entails…

    https://www.sfcta.org/sites/default/files/content/Planning/GearyCorridorBusRapidTransit/DraftEIR/Geary%20Corridor%20Bus%20Rapid%20Transit%20Project%20Draft%20EIS_EIR%20Appendices_B-E.pdf

    Like

  2. Pingback: Red Lanes hearing cancelled! | Meter Madness

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s